Fort de Bouc

Fortified castle, Castle
  • image_U|3T2000199_8757afd9-4b1f-4450-a451-51dc73d4bef6
  • image_U|3T2000199_f29a6f1c-2735-4f66-ac54-a80218ea0c3d
  • image_U|3T2000199_c2e1e5af-707b-4f7f-ba22-6aa72f92cfe4
  • image_U|3T2000199_e42cc777-1c1a-4145-9917-2124a4092883
image_U|3T2000199_8757afd9-4b1f-4450-a451-51dc73d4bef6image_U|3T2000199_f29a6f1c-2735-4f66-ac54-a80218ea0c3dimage_U|3T2000199_c2e1e5af-707b-4f7f-ba22-6aa72f92cfe4image_U|3T2000199_e42cc777-1c1a-4145-9917-2124a4092883

Presentation

In the city of Martigues, the Fort de Bouc stands on pink limestone walls at the mouth of the Chenal de Caronte. The fort has guarded the passage between the Golfe de Fos and Étang de Berre, half-way between Marseille and the Rhône, since the Middle Ages. With a strategic position for maritime trade and protecting the region, the Fort de Bouc has always played a dual role - both a defence site and lighthouse. It was listed as a historical monument on 6 January 1930.

In 1993, the city of Martigues undertook the project of protection and restoration of the Fort du Bouc. After the restorations in 2007, the first since its construction over a thousand years ago, the Fort de Bouc was opened to the public, taking visitors travelling back through history.
The Fort de Bouc is situated amongst the Lavéra petrol port sites. As a result, visits and use are subject to particular constraints. 
General information
  • Accessible for everyone :
    • NO
  • Location :
    • In an industrial/commercial zone
Services, Tours, Activities and entertainment
  • Architectural style :
    • Classical
  • Type of parking :
    • Public parking
Contact
Fort de Bouc
Chemin De la Jetée
13500
Martigues
mail / message
Phone : +33 4 42 42 31 10
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Fields with an asterisk * must not be left blank
My request
Your Contact Details
In accordance with Law No. 78-17 of 6 January 1978 of the National Committee for Information Technology and Civil Liberties (CNIL) with regard to computing, files and liberties (article 36), the interested party is entitled to ask for his/her personal information to be rectified, completed, clarified, updated or deleted if it is inaccurate, incomplete, ambiguous, elapsed or in respect of which it is forbidden to use, disseminate or store said information. Should you wish to exercise this right, please specify the fact in the form above.
loading
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_LIBELLE_DESTINATION
Fort de Bouc
Chemin De la Jetée
13500
Martigues
GPS coordinates
Latitude : 43.393538
Longitude : 4.98631

Fort de Bouc

Château-fort, Château
  • image_U|3T2000199_8757afd9-4b1f-4450-a451-51dc73d4bef6
  • image_U|3T2000199_f29a6f1c-2735-4f66-ac54-a80218ea0c3d
  • image_U|3T2000199_c2e1e5af-707b-4f7f-ba22-6aa72f92cfe4
  • image_U|3T2000199_e42cc777-1c1a-4145-9917-2124a4092883
image_U|3T2000199_8757afd9-4b1f-4450-a451-51dc73d4bef6image_U|3T2000199_f29a6f1c-2735-4f66-ac54-a80218ea0c3dimage_U|3T2000199_c2e1e5af-707b-4f7f-ba22-6aa72f92cfe4image_U|3T2000199_e42cc777-1c1a-4145-9917-2124a4092883

Présentation

Sur le territoire de la Commune de Martigues, le Fort de Bouc dresse ses murailles de calcaire rose à l'embouchure du chenal de Caronte. Depuis le Moyen Age, il garde ce passage entre le golfe de Fos et l'Etang de Berre, à mi-chemin entre Marseille et le Rhône. Par sa position stratégique pour le commerce maritime et le contrôle de la région, le Fort de Bouc a de tous temps eu une fonction double, à la fois ouvrage défensif et phare. Il est inscrit au titre des monuments historiques depuis le 06 janvier 1930.

En 1993, la Ville de Martigues s'est engagée dans la sauvegarde et la réhabilitation du Fort de Bouc. Après des travaux de restauration et pour la première fois de son histoire millénaire, en 2007 le Fort de Bouc s'est ouvert au public, offrant aux visiteurs un véritable voyage dans le temps.
Le fort de Bouc est enclavé géographiquement dans les installations du port pétrolier de Lavéra. De ce fait, sa fréquentation et son usage sont assujettis à diverses contraintes particulières.

Visite par voie maritime sur inscription à l'Office de Tourisme de Martigues.
Informations générales
  • Accès grand public :
    • NON
  • Localisation :
    • En zone d'activité industrielle/commerciale
Services, Visites, Animations
  • Style architectural :
    • Classique
  • Type de parking :
    • Parking public
Coordonnées
Fort de Bouc
Chemin De la Jetée
13500
Martigues
E-mail / Message
Tél : 04 42 42 31 10
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués par un astérisque *
Ma demande
Mes Coordonnées
Selon la Loi n° 78-17 du 06 janvier 1978 de la Commission Nationale de l'Informatique et des Libertés (CNIL), relative à l'informatique, aux fichiers et aux libertés (article 36), le titulaire du droit d'accès peut exiger que soient rectifiées, complétées, clarifiées, mises à jour ou effacées les informations le concernant qui sont inexactes, incomplètes, équivoques, périmées ou dont la collecte ou l'utilisation, la communication ou la conservation est interdite. Pour exercer ce droit, merci de le préciser dans le formulaire ci-dessus.
loading
Destination
Fort de Bouc
Chemin De la Jetée
13500
Martigues
Coordonnées GPS
Latitude : 43.393538
Longitude : 4.98631